that what is worth of words

sunset suicide

bayside. the pleasing warm breeze on your skin. the light air kiss-brushing your hair away. the calm waters seemingly mirroring the stars of the coming evening. the play of bright-to-dark orange in the horizon. the perfectly contoured visage of the lone Mountain from afar. and its lover Sun on His way down with rays so blinding they’re beautiful.

and then there’s the people. crowds of them. so, you realize you’re not alone. or you are alone.

parks and baysides can eat up a solo stroller. last sunday on my home from a nearby province, i decided to drop by this mall by the bay and get some snack. i knew it would be a crowded afternoon with families, groups, and romantics “enjoying” each other’s company. still, i thought it would be a good chance to have some sunset-viewing. but being surrounded with people who, beforehand, knew they came because they wanted to feel fun, forced me to question my own purpose for being in the same place as theirs, and eventually, my own purpose in the place called life.

but is it a sin to not have a purpose? i’ve heard of setting goals, aspirations, and dream-boards to get what you want. my school echoes to always strive for excellence. to be successful. to be happy. but why do we, humans, crave for “happy”? why do we need to be happy? is it not okay to just experience things as they are? or is happiness only a trick to escape the usuals and to gear us up for misery?

science might have an answer. but what does it matter? i came only for the sunset, and i stood amazed of it.

5 responses

  1. TheBlackTwig

    This got me thinking. We have different definitions of happiness but we often hear that it includes success, wealth, companionship, etc. But happiness also comes from, say, watching the sunset (the materialistic world might not agree). Like you, I find it ok and equally satisfying to experience things as they are…minus the expectations of this demanding world.
    Excellent sunset photos, by the way. 🙂

    February 11, 2014 at 1:54 pm

  2. Lovely story, very thought provoking. Happiness is a state of mind, one can be happy in many situations, you don’t have to be in company, unless you count your camera as company, obviously, from the beautiful photos, you are very happy in the company of your camera, it shows in the pics and inspires your lovely words.

    February 11, 2014 at 5:00 pm

    • “Happiness is a state of mind.” I agree. And happiness and the mind are two of the complexities of being-ness that i love to explore in my downtime. I should just say thank you for your kind words before I go philo again. Hehe.

      February 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

  3. Hello again, I am having a lot of trouble with my wordpress blog, I wrote the second part of my blog and it would not save, after 15 minutes I left the page and lost everything. I am going to restart the story on my own website blog soon. I have tried to get the lovely Ting to write a blog, but she says she isn’t a good writer, she has so little faith in her own abilities, sadly.

    February 11, 2014 at 6:46 pm

Leave a Reply

